UN/HIDE makes the people living in the Iraqi camp, their memories, dreams and hopes “visible”. The children get to freely and playfully express their feelings during our art workshops – and with that they overcome boundaries.

Thousends of people live in the camp near the Iraqi town Mossul, all of them left their homes to protect themselves from guns and hatred. The desire and longing for safety and a carefree everyday life grows inside the big refugee camp, especially for the little ones. We want to create spaces inside the camp where the children and young adults can be creative and express themselves freely. Spaces in which they can rest and process all that is happening around them to gain new strength. Playgrounds in which they can discover their talents and run free.

For us, art ist the best way to help. Art builds bridges and allows us to communicate in a language which is universally understood. This language encourages understanding, tolerance und ingetration of foreign ways of life and cultures.

“My family and I fled across the mountains. I would love to have taken my doll with me.”

(Burscha)

“The men had long beards and scarfs around their heads. Somebody helped us flee.”

WORKSHOPS JULE WAIBEL COLLECTION

UN/HIDE macht die Menschen in der irakischen Zeltstadt, ihre Erinnerungen, Träume und Hoffnungen „sichtbar“. Dabei sind es die Kinder selbst, die in unseren Workshops frei und spielerisch ihre Gefühle auf Papier bringen – und damit Grenzen überwinden.

In einem Camp nahe der irakischen Stadt Mossul leben Tausende von Menschen. Sie alle haben ihre Heimat verlassen, um sich vor Waffen und Hass zu schützen. In der riesigen Flüchtlingsunterkunft wächst die Sehnsucht nach Sicherheit, Geborgenheit und einem sorgenfreien Alltag — besonders unter den Jüngsten. Wir wollen Plätze innerhalb der Camps schaffen, an denen sich die Kinder und Jugendlichen frei und kreativ entfalten können. Orte, an denen sie die Ruhe haben, um das Geschehene zu verarbeiten und neue Kraft zu schöpfen. Spielwiesen, auf denen sie ihre Talente entdecken und ausleben können.

Für uns ist Kunst der beste Weg, zu helfen. Sie schafft Brücken und erlaubt uns, in einer Sprache zu kommunizieren, die universell verstanden wird. Sie fördert das Verständnis, die Toleranz und Integration fremder Lebensweisen und Kulturkreise.

„Meine Familie und ich sind über die Berge geflohen. Ich hätte so gerne meine Spielpuppe mitgenommen.“

(Burscha)

„Die Männer hatten lange Bärte und Tücher um den Kopf gewickelt. Jemand half uns zu fliehen.“

WORKSHOPS JULE WAIBEL KOLLEKTION